It’s Missouri

Missouri Department of Conservation runs the fishing rules and permits, and the four trout parks (Bennett Spring, Montauk, Roaring River, Maramec Spring) sell a daily trout tag instead of requiring the annual trout permit.

Each row below was read on the page named in its last column on October 30, 2026. Prices, hours and rules change, so confirm with the operator before you go. Items we could not read are listed under What We Could Not Verify.

$5Daily trout tag, adult, at the four trout parks
$3Daily trout tag, age 15 and younger
$12.00Trout Permit, resident (2026 listing)
$24.00Trout Permit, nonresident

Background

Where to Go

PlaceTownWhat It IsHours or Price as PrintedSource
Bennett Spring State Park trout parkLebanon (Dallas County)A spring branch stocked daily with rainbow trout; address printed as 26250 Highway 64A, Lebanon.MDC page: Friday to Monday 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.; daily tag $5 adult / $3 age 15 and under. State park page prints no hours.mostateparks.com
Montauk State Park trout parkSalem (Dent County)Park at the headwaters of the Current River; trout is the only commonly caught fish listed.MDC page: Friday to Monday 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.; daily tag $5 / $3. Park office 573-548-2201.mostateparks.com
Roaring River State Park trout parkCassville (Barry County)Park with a stocked rainbow trout stream, an on-site hatchery camera, and fishing year-round.MDC page: Friday to Monday 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.; daily tag $5 / $3. Office 417-847-2539.mostateparks.com
Maramec Spring Park trout parkPhelps CountyOne of the four trout parks; listed in Phelps County on the MDC trout areas page. Its own MDC place page returned 404, so only the trout-park listing was read.MDC page: daily 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.; daily tag $5 / $3mdc.mo.gov
Lake Taneycomo (large trout lake)Taney CountyListed by MDC as the large trout lake; the trout permit page says a Trout Permit is needed year-round upstream of the U.S. Highway 65 bridge.Trout Permit resident $12.00 / nonresident $24.00 / youth $6.00mdc.mo.gov
Blue Ribbon trout areas (Current River, Eleven Point River, North Fork of the White River, Crane Creek and others)Dent, Oregon, Ozark, Lawrence/Stone, other countiesMDC lists nine Blue Ribbon areas, including Current River (Dent), Eleven Point (Oregon), North Fork of the White (Ozark).Trout Permit required; see permit pagemdc.mo.gov
Winter trout fishing lakes (city lakes stocked in winter)Statewide, e.g. Hannibal (Huckleberry Lake), Cape Girardeau (Capaha Park Lake), Jefferson City (McKay Park Lake)MDC lists about 37 city and conservation-area lakes as winter trout areas.not statedmdc.mo.gov
Kansas City and St. Louis urban fishing lakesKansas City and St. Louis areasMDC names 13 Kansas City lakes and a St. Louis list; channel catfish are stocked, trout at selected lakes in winter.Stocking hotlines: Kansas City 816-525-0300, St. Louis 636-300-9651mdc.mo.gov
MDC Public Fishing Areas searchStatewideMDC says its search covers over 700 public fishing areas, and links a fishing map and the MO Fishing App for boat ramps and fish structure on major lakes and rivers.not statedmdc.mo.gov

What We Could Not Verify

More Missouri Guides

Questions People Ask

Do I need a trout permit at a trout park?

MDC says anglers in the parks buy a daily trout tag in place of the Trout Permit during the Mar 1 to Oct 31 season, and a Trout Permit is required for winter fishing in the parks.

What does a daily trout tag cost?

$5 for adults and $3 for ages 15 and younger, as printed by MDC.

What is the daily trout limit?

Four trout per day, with a possession limit of eight, per MDC.

When is the 2026 trout park season?

March 1 to October 31, 2026, then catch-and-release from November 13, 2026 to February 8, 2027.

Sources

Checked October 30, 2026 by It’s Missouri. Cite this page: It’s Missouri (https://itsmissouri.com/things-to-do/fishing/), checked October 30, 2026. Free to quote with a link.