Missouri’s biggest springs rise in the Ozarks: the National Park Service puts Big Spring at about 289 million gallons a day, and the Conservation Department calls Greer Spring the second largest in the state. Three state parks (Bennett Spring, Montauk and Roaring River) stock trout from March 1 to October 31.
Spring flow numbers vary by page, so where two agencies print different figures both are shown. Prices, hours and rules are copied as printed on the page named in the last column on October 30, 2026. They change; confirm with the operator before you drive.
Floating the Current River and Jacks Fork
Ozark National Scenic Riverways protects the Current River and Jacks Fork in Dent, Shannon and Carter counties. What the National Park Service floating page says, read October 30, 2026:
- No fee to float the Current River or Jacks Fork inside the park with your own vessel (NPS floating page).
- Licensed outfitters rent canoes, kayaks, rafts and tubes; NPS says to reserve far ahead and follow each outfitter’s own rules. We list no outfitter prices.
- Use designated access points and posted signs. No extended parking at access points, and some areas are restricted to outfitter vehicles in summer.
- One life jacket per person is required on vessels under 16 feet, and children under 7 must wear one at all times.
- Tying vessels together, jumping from trees and rope swings are prohibited. Glass and styrofoam are prohibited on or near the river. Dogs stay on land on a 6-foot leash and not tied to a vessel.
- Check river levels first. For closures and flooding, call the park at 573-323-4236.
Sources: NPS: floating; NPS: basic information.
Winter note from the park: between October 16 and April 14 only some campgrounds (Alley Spring, Round Spring and Big Spring) have fee-based first-come sites open, and the other campgrounds other than Alley Spring, Round Spring, Pulltite and Big Spring are fee free. Source: NPS: winter visitor information.
Big Springs, Ranked by What the Pages Print
The National Park Service defines a first-magnitude spring as one over 65 million gallons a day. These figures are averages the pages print, not a reading from the day you visit.
| Spring | Where | Flow as printed | Rank as printed | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Big Spring | Ozark National Scenic Riverways | 289 million gallons a day in the NPS table (286 in its caption); VisitMO says 286 | NPS: largest spring in the state; VisitMO: one of the three largest in the United States | NPS: springs |
| Greer Spring | Oregon County, Mark Twain National Forest | About 210 million gallons a day (MDC); NPS table says 214 | MDC: second largest spring in Missouri | MDC: Greer Spring |
| Maramec Spring | Maramec Spring Park | VisitMO: an average of 100 million gallons a day | VisitMO: fifth largest in Missouri (it also calls Welch Spring fifth) | VisitMO: Missouri’s springs |
| Bennett Spring | Bennett Spring State Park | More than 100 million gallons a day (state park page) | Not stated | Missouri State Parks: Bennett Spring |
| Blue Spring | Ozark National Scenic Riverways | NPS table 93 million (its profile says 82); VisitMO more than 90 million | VisitMO: sixth largest in Missouri | NPS: springs |
| Alley Spring | Ozark National Scenic Riverways | NPS table 89 million; VisitMO more than 80 million | VisitMO: seventh largest in Missouri | NPS: springs |
| Welch Spring | Ozark National Scenic Riverways | NPS 148 million; VisitMO 78 million (the two pages disagree) | VisitMO: fifth largest | VisitMO: Missouri’s springs |
| Montauk Spring | Montauk State Park | NPS table 53 million; the state park page says park springs and Pigeon Creek supply more than 40 million gallons a day to the river | Not stated | Missouri State Parks: Montauk |
| Round Spring | Ozark National Scenic Riverways | NPS table 26 million (its profile says 30) | Not stated | NPS: springs |
| Roaring River Spring | Roaring River State Park | VisitMO: more than 20 million gallons a day; the park page gives no flow | VisitMO calls it the deepest spring in the United States | VisitMO: Missouri’s springs |
Trout Parks
Missouri State Parks fishing pages, read October 30, 2026. Maramec Spring Park, which is not a state park, blocked our reader, so it has no row.
| Park | Town | Season as printed | Permits as printed | Limits as printed | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bennett Spring State Park | Lebanon | Daily March 1 to October 31; winter catch-and-release from the second Friday in November to the second Monday in February, Friday to Monday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. | Daily trout tag from the park store; state fishing permit except age 15 and under and Missouri residents 65 and older | 4 trout a day (one brown 15 inches or longer), 8 in possession | Missouri State Parks: Bennett Spring fishing |
| Montauk State Park | Salem | March 1 to October 31; winter catch-and-release second Friday in November to second Monday in February, Friday to Monday, 8 to 4 | Trout license and daily tag from the concessionaire (the page’s wording); state fishing permit with the same exemptions | 4 a day, 8 in possession | Missouri State Parks: Montauk fishing |
| Roaring River State Park | Cassville | Daily March 1 to October 31; winter catch-and-release second Friday in November to second Monday in February, Friday to Monday, 8 to 4; one Zone 2 section is catch-and-release all year | Daily tag signed; state fishing permit with the same exemptions; sold at the park store | 4 a day, 8 in possession; brown trout 15 inches minimum | Missouri State Parks: Roaring River fishing |
What We Could Not Verify
- Maramec Spring Park trout dates and permits: its site would not load for us.
- The full National Park Service campground list, fees and reservations: those pages errored, so we point you to the park instead.
- Float stream data from the Conservation Department: the pages we tried returned errors, so we give no float distances or river-level numbers.
- Coordinates for springs other than Greer Spring. Greer Spring is a one-mile one-way trail from parking on Highway 19, per MDC.
- Which flow or rank figure is right where pages disagree (Big Spring, Blue Spring, Alley Spring, Welch Spring, Maramec Spring). Ask the agency that manages the spring.
- Whether Round Spring cave tours are running this season.
More Missouri Guides
Questions People Ask
What is the biggest spring in Missouri?
The National Park Service calls Big Spring the largest spring in the state, at 289 million gallons a day in its table.
Is it free to float the Current River?
The park charges no fee to float the Current or Jacks Fork with your own vessel inside the park; outfitters charge their own prices.
When is trout season in Missouri state parks?
March 1 to October 31 daily at Bennett Spring, Montauk and Roaring River, then catch-and-release Friday to Monday in winter.
Do I need a life jacket on the Current River?
NPS requires one per person on vessels under 16 feet, and children under 7 must wear one at all times.
Are dogs allowed on the river?
Dogs stay on land on a 6-foot leash and are not tied to a vessel, per the NPS floating page.
Sources
- NPS: Ozark National Scenic Riverways
- NPS: basic information
- NPS: floating
- NPS: winter visitor information
- NPS: springs
- MDC: Greer Spring
- VisitMO: Missouri’s springs
- Missouri State Parks: Bennett Spring
- Missouri State Parks: Bennett Spring fishing
- Missouri State Parks: Montauk
- Missouri State Parks: Montauk fishing
- Missouri State Parks: Roaring River
- Missouri State Parks: Roaring River fishing
Checked October 30, 2026 by It’s Missouri. Cite this page: It’s Missouri (https://itsmissouri.com/things-to-do/springs-and-rivers/), checked October 30, 2026. Free to quote with a link.