It’s MissouriSearch

Missouri counts about 8,000 known caves, and a handful have tours: three inside state parks (Onondaga, Cathedral and Ozark Caverns) and several privately run show caves such as Meramec Caverns, Fantastic Caverns, Bridal Cave and Mark Twain Cave.

Tour prices, hours and cave temperatures below are copied from each operator’s or Missouri State Parks’ own page. Prices, hours and rules are copied as printed on the page named in the last column on October 30, 2026. They change; confirm with the operator before you drive. Anything a page did not say is marked in the last section.

8,000known caves, Missouri Speleological Survey, March 1, 2026
31 milongest cave, Crevice Cave
3tour caves in state parks
53-60°Fcave temperatures the pages print

Why Missouri Is The Cave State

The Missouri Speleological Survey fact page gives 8,000 caves as of March 1, 2026, and says the count keeps changing as caves are added and bad records are removed. It lists 4,670 mapped caves with about 495 miles of surveyed passage, 77 caves with more than a mile of passage, and Crevice Cave as the longest at 31 miles. Source: Missouri Speleological Survey.

Tours in Missouri State Parks

State-run tours, with prices and seasons the park pages print for 2026.

CaveWhereTourPrice as printedSeason and hours as printedSource
Onondaga CaveOnondaga Cave State Park, LeasburgWalking, lit paved walkways from the visitor center; just under 1 mile, about 1 hour 15 minutes; 57°F year-round. Pets not allowed.Adult $23, teen $23, child 6-12 $13, under 6 free; senior and military $20Daily April 1 to October 31 in 2026; last tour begins 3:30 p.m.Missouri State Parks: Onondaga cave tours
Cathedral Cave (lantern tour)Onondaga Cave State Park, LeasburgGuided lantern tour, about 2 hours total with a one-third mile walk up Deer Run Trail; the page calls it more strenuous than Onondaga. First 20 people.Adult $15, teen $13, child 6-12 $10, under 6 free; senior and military $12. Both caves the same day: adult $32Saturdays and Sundays from Memorial Day weekend to Labor Day weekend in 2026; times not statedMissouri State Parks: Onondaga cave tours
Ozark CavernsLake of the Ozarks State Park, near KaiserGuided walking tour, about 1 hour and a half-mile round trip, “appropriate for all ages”; 56°F. Purses, backpacks and strollers are not allowed in the cave.Adult $13, teen $10, child 6-12 $8, under 6 free; tax not includedLate spring and summer only: weekends from May 15, daily June 1 to August 15, then reduced days to September 15; closed to traditional tours September 16 to May 14Missouri State Parks: Ozark Caverns tours

Privately Run Show Caves

Operator pages, read the same day. Several do not print a tour length or price, which we leave blank rather than guess.

CaveWhereTourPrice as printedSeason and hours as printedSource
Meramec CavernsStanton (I-44 exit 230)Guided tours on lit walkways; the page says a cool 60 degrees year-roundNot readable on the pageOpen daily 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. (page undated)Meramec Caverns
Fantastic CavernsSpringfieldThree tours listed: Cool 60, Ride-Thru and Missouri’s Cave; tour length not stated2026: adult $36, child 6-12 $18, 5 and under freeDaily except Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day; the page showed 8 a.m. to 7 p.m., last departure 6 p.m.Fantastic Caverns
Bridal CaveCamdentonStandard tour, Lantern Tour and Black Light Adventure; 60°F year-roundStandard: adult $30, child 5-12 $16, 4 and under free. Lantern $39.95. Black Light $36Daily 9 to 5 through October 30, then 9 to 4 from October 31; closed New Year’s Day, Thanksgiving and ChristmasBridal Cave
Mark Twain CaveHannibalWalking, lit; the page says one hour. A separate Cameron Cave flashlight tour runs about 90 minutes.Mark Twain Cave: adult $29.99, child 4-12 $16.99. Cameron Cave: adult $32.99, child $16.99Varies by month: for example Memorial Day to Labor Day 9 to 7 Sunday to Thursday and 9 to 8 Friday and Saturday; see the pageMark Twain Cave: hours and prices
Talking Rocks CavernBranson WestGuided walking tour on concrete walkways, rain or shine, no reservations needed for cave toursNot stated on the pageOpen daily at 9 a.m., last tour 5 p.m.Talking Rocks Cavern
Jacob’s CaveVersaillesFully guided, described as mile-long; 53°F; the page says paved, lit and step-free with wheelchairs availableNot statedThe page says the cave is currently closed for renovation, with private tours on 48 hours noticeJacob’s Cave

Protecting The Bats

Missouri State Parks’ cave advisory says white-nose syndrome was first found in Missouri in 2010, that it kills bats and that it does not affect people. It says wild caves in state parks that bats use are closed September 30 to May 15, and reopen for recreational caving May 16 to September 29 by permit from the park office. Screening applies to tours at Onondaga Cave, Cathedral Cave, Fisher Cave and Ozark Caverns, and gear that has been in any other cave should stay out of these caves. Source: Missouri State Parks: Missouri Cave Advisory (page dated 2013; see the last section).

What We Could Not Verify

More Missouri Guides

Questions People Ask

How many caves does Missouri have?

The Missouri Speleological Survey lists 8,000 as of March 1, 2026, and says the number keeps changing.

Which Missouri caves can I tour?

Onondaga Cave, Cathedral Cave and Ozark Caverns in state parks, plus private show caves such as Meramec Caverns, Fantastic Caverns, Bridal Cave, Mark Twain Cave and Talking Rocks Cavern.

What is the temperature inside Missouri caves?

The pages we read print 53°F at Jacob’s Cave, 56°F at Ozark Caverns, 57°F at Onondaga and Cathedral caves, and about 60°F at Meramec, Fantastic and Bridal caves.

What is the longest cave in Missouri?

The Missouri Speleological Survey names Crevice Cave at 31 miles, then Berome Moore Cave at 24.5 miles and Carroll Cave at nearly 22.

Are the state park cave tours open all year?

No. The 2026 pages list Onondaga April 1 to October 31 and Ozark Caverns mostly May to mid-September.

Sources

Checked October 30, 2026 by It’s Missouri. Cite this page: It’s Missouri (https://itsmissouri.com/things-to-do/caves/), checked October 30, 2026. Free to quote with a link.