Missouri State Parks says the Katy Trail is 240 miles long and runs between Clinton and Machens, with 26 trailheads and four restored depots. Its mile markers run from 26.9 at Machens to 264.4 at Clinton.
The Katy Trail follows the old Missouri-Kansas-Texas Railroad corridor along the Missouri River. Everything below is as printed by Missouri State Parks, read October 31, 2026. Where two of its pages differ, both numbers are shown.
Trail Facts
| Field | As printed on the official page |
|---|---|
| Length | 240 miles (park page). The General Information page puts the ends at mile markers 26.9 and 264.4, which is about 237.5 miles by our subtraction; mileage is described as approximate because the trail leaves the railroad corridor in places. |
| Ends | Machens, St. Charles County (east, mile marker 26.9) and Clinton, Henry County (west, mile marker 264.4; another list on the same page says 264.6) |
| Trailheads | 26 trailheads and four fully restored railroad depots |
| Counties | Not given as a route list. The General Information page lists sheriff contacts for Henry, Pettis, Cooper, Howard, Boone, Callaway, Montgomery, Warren and St. Charles counties. |
| Surface | Not stated on the pages read |
| Difficulty | Not stated. The page says the trail is designed for walking and bicycling. |
| Season | Not stated. Restrooms are closed and water is off at trailheads November through March; the page gives winterization as November 1 to April 1. |
| Hours | Sunrise to sunset |
| Fees | Not mentioned on the pages read |
| Mile markers | Posted every mile. Tebbetts trailhead is mile marker 131.2 (5551 Co. Road 4011), with lodging, parking, restrooms, shuttle and water. |
Rules and Services
- Bicycles are allowed; electric-assist bikes and trikes up to 20 mph are permitted. The page advises helmets for cyclists and equestrians.
- Horses are allowed from Clinton to the Sedalia state fairgrounds and from Tebbetts to Portland.
- Pets must be leashed. No motorized vehicles (official and emergency use excepted), no hunting or firearms, and no saws or hatchets.
- Missouri State Parks does not provide camping along the trail.
Points of Interest
- Four restored railroad depots and the Missouri River corridor.
- It is a segment of the Lewis and Clark National Historic Trail, the American Discovery Trail and the Millennium Legacy Trail, and was named to the Rails-to-Trails Conservancy Hall of Fame in 2008.
- Section pages on the park site: Clinton to Boonville, Boonville to North Jefferson City, North Jefferson City to Marthasville, Marthasville to Machens.
What We Could Not Verify
- Counties along the route, surface, difficulty and best months: the pages we read do not give them.
- The exact length: 240 miles on the park page against about 237.5 from its own mile markers.
- The west end: mile marker 264.4 in one place and 264.6 in another.
- Fees, and any trailhead closures today: check the state park status map.
- The section pages and the mileage chart were not read.
More Missouri Guides
Questions People Ask
How long is the Katy Trail?
Missouri State Parks says 240 miles between Clinton and Machens. Its own mile markers suggest about 237.5, so treat the length as approximate.
Can you camp on the Katy Trail?
The park system says it does not provide camping along the trail.
Are dogs allowed?
Yes, on a leash, according to the General Information page.
Sources
- Missouri State Parks: Katy Trail State Park
- Missouri State Parks: Katy Trail general information
- Missouri State Parks: Tebbetts trailhead
- Missouri State Parks: entire trail
Checked October 30, 2026 by It’s Missouri. Cite this page: It’s Missouri (https://itsmissouri.com/things-to-do/trails/katy-trail/), checked October 30, 2026. Free to quote with a link.